May 2018

ArtsWestchester Triennial Offers Snapshot of What’s Now & What’s New

Showcasing the vanguard of the region’s arts community, an upcoming exhibition The ArtsWestchester Triennial will offer a snapshot of “what’s now” and “what’s new” in contemporary visual art throughout the Hudson Valley region. The exhibit opens to the public on Sunday, May 6 with an opening reception from 4 to 6pm, in ArtsWestchester’s downtown White Plains gallery and run through Saturday, July 28.

The Triennial, which will run through July 28, will coincide with the celebration of ArtsWestchester’s 20th year in its historic downtown White Plains building. Since the organization acquired 31 Mamaroneck Avenue in 1998, it has been hard at work restoring and creatively adapting the use of the nine-story cultural treasure into an arts incubator and multi-use arts center, while preserving the landmark building. The organization transformed the building into a cultural destination filled with creative energy and arts programs serving the greater Westchester market area.


ArtsWestchester’s Triennial, a once-every-three-years art exhibition, will become a mainstay of ArtsWestchester’s exhibition programming.


“The Hudson River Valley has long been a muse to artists, and still today many artists in the region look to the natural environment as their source of inspiration. The ArtsWestchester Triennial is a coming together of diverse artists from the region who employ a variety of media to mine a range of inspirations,” said Janet T. Langsam, CEO of ArtsWestchester.


The following local artists will be featured in The ArtsWestchester Triennial: Natalia Arbelaez of Port Chester; Gary Burnley of Bronxville; Barry Mason of Mount Vernon; and Nancy Egol Nikkal of New Rochelle.


ArtsWestchester is located at 31 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains.  Admission is free to the public. Docent tours of the exhibit are available to the public and for private groups with a suggested per person donation. ArtsWestchester gallery hours are Tuesday through Friday 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Saturday 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.


 For more information, visit



c2018 Shoreline Publishing, Inc.

629 Fifth Avenue, Suite 213, Pelham, NY 10803

P: 914-738-7869